Visual Arts & Residencies

Tanks Arts Centre hosts a variety of local and touring exhibitions, artists´ residencies and studio activity. Tanks main exhibition space, Tank 4, is unlike a conventional, white-wall gallery and offers a unique environment in which to create and present work.

Standard opening times are 9am – 4:30pm weekdays and 10am – 2:30pm weekends and public holidays. Gallery is closed during exhibition turnovers. Please check program for exhibition dates.


Pride in Authority - An Exhibition of Cultural Longevity

Fri 29 Jun - Tue 24 Jul
Free

A major highlight of CIAF’s program of satellite exhibitions stemming from a collaboration between CIAF and three remote Aboriginal communities: Aurukun, Pormpuraaw and B...
[More info]

Entropy Exhibition - Deborah Redwood, Dr. Robyn Glade Wright and Barbara Dover

Thu 5 Jul - Thu 26 Jul
Free

Entropy is the big picture in climate change. Entropy states everything heads towards death and disorder.
[More info]

Emma Constantine Residency - Me and Nature: Making Sense of Myself and It

Thu 19 Jul - Fri 03 Aug

Emma Constantine is a British performance artist on a tour of residencies around Australia.
[More info]

Inkmasters Print Exhibition 2018 by Inkmasters Cairns

Fri 27 Jul - Sun 19 Aug
Free

The fourth biennial InkFest print exhibition features print-based works by regional, national and international artists.
[More info]

The Big Print - Inkmasters Cairns

Sun 29 Jul
Free

The Big Print, part of InkFest 2018, is a community activity involving Cairns Pan Stars Steel Orchestra and many pairs of dancing feet to create a very, very large print.
[More info]

Unfurl Exhibition - Jessie Rose Ford

Tue 31 Jul - Mon 03 Sep
Free

A body of work encompassing Jessie’s plant explorations during her two week artist residency at the Cairns Botanic Gardens.
[More info]

Ever Widening Circles

Wed 1 Aug - Thu 30 Aug
Free

A reference to the expanding use of materials and techniques as well as friendships forged along the way.
[More info]

Energy 2018

Fri 31 Aug - Sun 30 Sep
Free

A presentation of visual art produced by school students across the region.
[More info]